Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

The 2013-14 NHL Anti-Awards

Winning the Calder or Art Ross or the Vezina Trophy is the feather in the cap to a usually amazing season for an NHL player. These awards place the player alongside the greats of the game like Teemu SelanneWayne Gretzky and Martin Brodeur.

But how about the Bob Stewart Award or the Mike Peluso Award? In an effort to take a light-hearted look at the 2013-14 NHL season we decided to create a series of anti-awards, which highlight some of the not so notable achievements from the season.

Here is our second annual NHL Anti-Awards. 

The Bob Stewart Award - this award goes to the player with the worst plus-minus for the season. Named after retired NHLer Bob Stewart who holds the record for the worst career plus-minus at -260. 2013 Winners: Brian Campbell and Erik Gudbranson.

The winner of the 2013-14 Bob Stewart Award is Alexander Edler of the Vancouver Canucks who had a +/- of -39 on the season to lead all NHL players. While the likes of Steve Ott (-38) and Alex Ovechkin (-35) were on his heels, Edler managed to rack up his -39 in just 63 games, which pro-rates to a -51 over a full 82-game season.

Coming in last place for the Bob Stewart Award was David Krejci
 of the Boston Bruins who had a league best +39 plus-minus rank.

The Shawn Thornton Award - this award goes to the forward with the worst shooting percentage (more than 100 shots) for the season. During the 2009 NHL season, Shawn Thornton had 119 shots on net and only one goal for a shooting percentage of 0.84% - the worst by a forward in the last 23 seasons. 2013 Winner: B.J. Crombeen.

This years winner of the Shawn Thornton Award goes to... Tyler Kennedy of the San Jose Sharks who had 4 goals on 143 shots on goal for a shooting percentage of just 2.80%. To put this into perspective, if he were to score as many goals as Alex Ovechkin did this season (51), he would need to take 1,821 shots on goal (Ovechkin did it in 386 shots).

On the flipside, coming in last place in the Shawn Thornton Award rankings was Steven Stamkos who scored 25 goals on 124 shots for a league-leading shooting percentage of 20.16% - Stamkos has a career shooting percentage of 17.5%.

The Sergei Zubov Award - this is awarded to the player with the most giveaways during the season. The record for the most giveaways in a season is held by Sergei Zubov during the 2000-2001 NHL season with 145 giveaways and in second place, Sergei Zubov during the 2001-2002 NHL season with 142 - a total of 287 giveaways over two seasons. 2013 Winner: Dion Phaneuf.

The giveaway leader in the NHL and the 2013-14 Sergei Zubov Award recipient is Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators who had 115 giveaways on the season. Karlsson managed 68 takeaways on the season as well for a turnover +/- of -47 (Niklas Hjalmarsson of the Blackhawks had the league worst -79 turnover +/-). The forward with the most giveaways over the season was Taylor Hall of the Edmonton Oilers who had 100 giveaways on the season (he had 3rd most takeaways at 76).

For those wondering, Ryan O'Reilly of the Colorado Avalanche led all NHLers with 83 takeaways while Jaden Schwartz of the St. Louis Blues had the leagues best turnover +/- at +51. 

The Tim Kennedy Award - this award goes to the player with the worst face-off percentage with at least 100 face-off wins. During the 2009 season, Tim Kennedy took 397 face-offs for the Sabres but only won 133 of them for a face-off percentage of 33.5%, which is the lowest since face-offs stats started being tracked in 2000. 2013 Winner: Stephen Gionta.

The winner of the 2013-14 Tim Kennedy Award is Tyler Ennis of the Buffalo Sabres who had a face-off percentage of 38.7% as he won just 242 of his 625 faceoffs. Over his four season career, he has a career faceoff percentage of 41.2%.

Coming in last place for the Tim Kennedy Award is Joe Vitale of the Pittsburgh Penguins who won 62.5% of his 320 faceoffs. Patrice Bergeron won the most total faceoffs this season with 1,015 total faceoff wins.

The Mike Peluso Award - this is awarded to the player with the most penalty minutes during the season. Mike Peluso was the last player to get over 400 penalty minutes in a single season (408 - 1991-92 with the Blackhawks). 2013 Winner: Colton Orr.

The winner of the 2013-14 Mike Peluso Award is Tom Sestito of the Vancouver Canucks who racked up a total of 213 penalty minutes or an average of 2.77 penalty minutes per game, which is equivalent to over 3.5 games spent in the penalty box.

The Luke Richardson Award
 - this is awarded to the player with the most time-on-ice without a goal. During the 2002-03 NHL Season, Luke Richardson was on the ice for a total of 1,928 minutes without scoring a single goal. 2013 Winner: Ron Hainsey.

The recipient of the 2013-14 Luke Richardson Award is Boston Bruins defenseman Matt Bartkowski who spent a total of 1,250 minutes on the ice without registering a single goal. Over the season, Bartkowski directed a total of 91 shots on goal. In fact, so far over his four seasons in the NHL (which span 84 total games), he has failed to yet score a regular season goal in the NHL.

If you're wondering which player this season had the a goal with the fewest amount of time on ice; Johnny Gaudreau of the Calgary Flames who has registered one goal, in one game, on one shot and with just 15 minutes of total ice time.

The Olaf Kolzig Award - this is awarded to the goaltender with the most power play goals against over the season. During the 2005-06 NHL season, Washington Capitals goalie Olaf Kolzig let in a total of 82 power play goals. 2013 Winner: Ryan Miller.

The winner of the 2013-14 Olaf Kolzig Award goes to Mike Smith of the Phoenix Coyotes who let in a total of 46 power play goals over his 61 starts to lead all goalies.

For a look back in history, check out our first ever NHL Anti-Awards - or Jimmy Fallon's attempt at awarding NHL players:

Latest Articles