Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

Has any golfer won the Masters and the Par 3 Contest in the same year?

The quick answer: No. Since the inception of the Par 3 Content in 1960, no player has ever won the Masters and Par 3 Contest in the same season. However, 11 golfers have won both a Masters and a Par 3 Contest.

Held on the Wednesday before the Masters tournament, the Par 3 Contest is a great event that brings the golfers closer to the fans through its casual nature as well as the great scenes that tend to unfold including having players kids, wives, fathers, etc. as the players caddies during the event.

But how does it have an impact on the eventual winner of one of the greatest golf tournaments in the world? We decided to look at the past events to see what winning the Par 3 Contest means for a players chances in the big tournament.

Here is the full list of every Par 3 Contest winner and the winner of the Master in that year:

Year Par 3 Contest Winner Masters Winner Par 3 Winner Finish Score
2014 Ryan Moore TBD TBD TBD
2013 Ted Potter, Jr. Adam Scott MC 149
2012 Padraig Harrington, Jonathan Byrd Bubba Watson T8, T27 284, 290
2011 Luke Donald Charl Schwartzel T4 278
2010 Louis Oosthuizen Phil Mickelson MC 152
2009 Tim Clark Ángel Cabrera T13 282
2008 Rory Sabbatini Trevor Immelman MC 149
2007 Mark O'Meara Zach Johnson MC 153
2006 Ben Crane Phil Mickelson MC 149
2005 Jerry Pate Tiger Woods DNP DNP
2004 Padraig Harrington Phil Mickelson T13 288
2003 Padraig Harrington, David Toms Mike Weir MC, T8 150
2002 Nick Price Tiger Woods T20 289
2001 David Toms Tiger Woods T31 288
2000 Chris Perry Vijay Singh T25 289
1999 Joe Durant José María Olazábal MC 166
1998 Sandy Lyle Mark O'Meara MC 151
1997 Sandy Lyle Tiger Woods T34 295
1996 Jay Haas Nick Faldo T36 295
1995 Hal Sutton Ben Crenshaw MC 148
1994 Vijay Singh José María Olazábal T27 294
1993 Chip Beck Bernhard Langer 2 283
1992 Davis Love III Fred Couples T25 284
1991 Rocco Mediate Ian Woosnam T22 284
1990 Raymond Floyd Nick Faldo 2 278
1989 Bob Gilder Nick Faldo 37 297
1988 Tsuneyuki Nakajima Sandy Lyle T33 297
1987 Ben Crenshaw Larry Mize T4 285
1986 Gary Koch Jack Nicklaus T16 286
1985 Hubert Green Bernhard Langer MC 157
1984 Tommy Aaron Ben Crenshaw MC 152
1983 Hale Irwin Seve Ballesteros T6 286
1982 Tom Watson Craig Stadler T5 287
1981 Isao Aoki Tom Watson T45 300
1980 Johnny Miller Seve Ballesteros T38 292
1979 Joe Inman, Jr. Fuzzy Zoeller T23 290
1978 Lou Graham Gary Player MC 150
1977 Tom Weiskopf Tom Watson T14 286
1976 Jay Haas Raymond Floyd MC 152
1975 Isao Aoki Jack Nicklaus MC 151
1974 Sam Snead Gary Player T20 286
1973 Gay Brewer Tommy Aaron T10 291
1972 Steve Melnyk Jack Nicklaus T12 292
1971 Dave Stockton Charles Coody T9 286
1970 Harold Henning Billy Casper MC 151
1969 Bob Lunn George Archer MC 149
1968 Bob Rosburg Bob Goalby T30 290
1967 Arnold Palmer Gay Brewer 4 285
1966 Terry Dill Jack Nicklaus T17 297
1965 Art Wall Jr. Jack Nicklaus T45 299
1964 Labron Harris Jr. Arnold Palmer 43 297
1963 George Bayer Jack Nicklaus T28 297
1962 Bruce Crampton Arnold Palmer T29 295
1961 Deane Beman Gary Player MC 150
1960 Sam Snead Arnold Palmer T11 292

Closest To Win Both The Par 3 Contest and Masters (Same Year)
: Two players have come incredibly close to winning both the Par 3 Contest and the Masters; Raymond Floyd (1990) and Chip Beck (1993) both finished as runner-ups in the Masters after winning the Par 3 Contest.

Raymond Floyd came closest between the two as he lost the Masters in a playoff with winner Nick Floyd.


The average score per round of Par 3 Contest winners during the Masters has been just over par at 72.8.

Of the 55 total players to win the Par 3 Contest and play in the Masters, a total of 17 players failed to make the cut. Of the 38 that made the cut, the average finishing position in the Masters has been 20th place.

The highest overall four-round score during the Masters after winning the Par 3 Contest was 300 (+12) by Isao Aoki in 1981. The highest two-round score for a Par 3 Contest winner (missed cut) was 166 (+22) by Joe Durant in 1999.

The only player to win the Par 3 Contest and not actually play in the Masters was Jerry Pate in 2005. He was playing in the Par 3 Contest as an Honorary Invite.

In total, the total par score of all Par 3 Contest winners is +178 to par during their Master rounds. 

Players to have won both the Masters and the Par 3 Content but not in the same year: Sam Snead, Art Wall Jr., Arnold Palmer, Gary Brewer, Tom Watson, Tommy Aaron, Ben Crenshaw, Raymond Floyd, Vijay Singh, Sandy Lyle and Mark O’Meara.

Players to win multiple Par 3 Contests: Padrig Harrington (3), Isao Aoki (2), Jay Haas (2), David Toms (2), Sam Sneed (2) and Sandy Lyle (2).

More Par 3 Contest Facts and Stats: In total, there have been 75 hole-in-ones during the tournament. The record for most hole-in-ones during a single year was 5, which occurred in 2002. The player with the most hole-in-ones is 3 by Gary Player.

The Par 3 Contest is a 9 hole course (par or 27, naturally) with the lowest score ever posted being 20 by both Art Wall Jr. in 1965 and Gay Brewer in 1973. The oldest player to win the Par 3 Contest was Sam Sneed in 1974 at the age of 61. 



Latest Articles