Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

American League - AL

What is American League - AL?

The American League (AL) makes up one half of Major League Baseball and consists of 14 teams divided into three divisions (East, West and Central).

American League East
Baltimore Orioles
Boston Red Sox
New York Yankees
Tampa Bay Rays
Toronto Blue Jays

American League Central
Chicago White Sox
Cleveland Indians
Detroit Tigers
Kansas City Royals
Minnesota Twins

American League West
Houston Astros
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
Oakland Athletics
Seattle Mariners
Texas Rangers

Sporting Charts explains American League

The most notable difference between the American and National Leagues is that the American League adopted the designated hitter (DH) rule in 1973. This rule allows a non-positional player to bat in the lineup in place of a pitcher.

Related Video