Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

Gold Glove

What is Gold Glove?

An award handed out to players who had a superior fielding season. A total of 18 Gold Gloves are handed out each year with Gloves going to one player at each position for both the National League and American League. The winners of the award are determined by the votes of coaches and managers in the league.

Officially known as "Rawlings Gold Glove Award."

Sporting Charts explains Gold Glove

The award was created in 1957 by glove manufacturer, Rawlings, who wanted to reward players who displayed the best fielding performance. Pitcher Greg Maddux has the record for the most Gold Gloves with 18 awarded.

In 2007, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the award, Rawlings and the MLB poled coaches and managers to create an all-time Gold Glove Team.

All-time Gold Glove Team

1B - Wes Parker
2B - Joe Morgan
3B - Brooks Robinson
SS - Ozzie Smith 
OF - Willie Mays
OF - Roberto Clemente
OF - Ken Griffey, Jr.
C - Johnny Bench
P - Greg Maddux

Related Video