Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations


What is Series?

In baseball, a sequence of two or more consecutive games between two teams.

Sporting Charts explains Series - baseball

There are two types of series in baseball. One is a series that takes place during the regular season. In a regular season series, two teams typically play between two to four consecutive games on consecutive days, all at the same ballpark. With the exception of interleague play, most teams that face off in a regular season series will play at least one series against the same team both home and away, especially if they are part of the same division. The other type of series is a playoff series, which is part of baseball's postseason. In a playoff series, the series consists of either five (the Division series) or seven games (the League Championship or World Series). Where the games are played is determined by which team has home-field advantage and they are not played on consecutive days due to both travel and the length of the series.

A regular season series is considered won by the team who wins the majority of the games in the series. A tie is referred to as a "split", and if one team wins all the games in a series, it is referred to as a "sweep." A playoff series is won based on the number of games played. In a five game series, victory requires three victories, while a seven game series requires four wins.

Related Video