Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

Triple Crown

What is Triple Crown?

An award in baseball bestowed at the end of the season to the player who is ranked first in three major categories. For hitters: batting average, home runs, and runs batted in. For pitchers: earned run average, wins, and strikeouts.

Sporting Charts explains Triple Crown

The Triple Crown is one of the most prestigious and rare awards in the game of baseball, and is not awarded often. A Triple Crown is normally exclusive to the National League or American league, but if a player is the leader in all three categories across all of baseball, he earns the "Major League Triple Crown". The first ever hitter to win two Triple Crowns was Roger Hornsby in 1922 and 1925 with the St. Louis Cardinals. The most recent pitcher awarded three Triple Crowns was Sandy Koufax with the Los Angeles Dodgers in 1963, 1964 and 1965.  More recently the Triple Crown was reached by Miguel Cabrera in 2012.

See also: The Triple Crown Affair

Related Video