Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

Defensive Player of the Year

What is Defensive Player of the Year?

This is an NBA award given to the best defensive player of the regular season.  It is voted on by sports writers and broadcasters, each of whom votes for their first, second, and third selections.  There are currently 124 members of the voting bloc.

Sporting Charts explains Defensive Player of the Year

The Defensive Player of the Year award has been handed out since the 1982-83 season, with the first recipient being Sidney Moncrief of the Milwaukee Bucks.  He won the next year as well.  There are two players tied for the most Defensive Player of the Year awards, each having won it 4 times: Dikembe Mutombo and Ben Wallace.  Mutombo won the award with 3 different teams, the Denver Nuggets, Atlanta Hawks, and Philadelphia 76ers.  The most recent recipient of the award was Tyson Chandler of the New York Knicks.  The award typically goes to a center or forward; less than 5 guards have won the award in its 30 year history.

Related Video