Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

American Football Conference - AFC

What is American Football Conference - AFC?

One of two conferences making up the National Football League (NFL). The AFC is currently made up of 16 teams-10 of which originated as American Football League (AFL) franchises. League expansion and the need to equalize the AFC and NFC conferences increased the original number of teams from 10. 

In 1970 the AFL merged with the NFL and all former AFL teams comprised the AFC. 

Sporting Charts explains American Football Conference

The AFC is currently comprised of the following teams:

AFC East:
Buffalo Bills
Miami Dolphins
New England Patriots
New York Jets

AFC North:
Baltimore Ravens
Cincinnati Bengals
Cleveland Browns
Pittsburgh Steelers

AFC South:
Houston Texans
Indianapolis Colts
Jacksonville Jaguars
Tennessee Titans

AFC West:
Denver Broncos
Kansas City Chiefs
Oakland Raiders
San Diego Chargers

The Lamar Hunt trophy and a berth in the Super Bowl is awarded to the team that wins the AFC Championship game.

Related Video