Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

Heisman Trophy

What is Heisman Trophy?

An award given to the most outstanding player in college football each year. The Heisman Trophy is awarded by the Downtown Athletic Club in New York. The trophy is voted on by a collection of sport journalists and former Heisman winners. Each year, the top five finalists are invited to attend the unveiling of the year's winner. The Heisman Trophy itself is a bronze statue of a player running with the football with one arm extended, and is one of the most recognizable trophies in sports.  Past winners include:

Year Player School Position
1935 Jay Berwanger Chicago RB
1936 Larry Kelley Yale END
1937 Clint Frank Yale QB
1938 Davey O'Brien TCU QB
1939 Nile Kinnick Iowa RB
1940 Tom Harmon Michigan RB
1941 Bruce Smith Minnesota RB
1942 Frank Sinkwich Georgia RB
1943 Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame QB
1944 Les Horvath Ohio State QB
1945 Doc Blanchard Army FB
1946 Glenn Davis Army RB
1947 John Lujack Notre Dame QB
1948 Doak Walker Southern Methodist RB
1949 Leon Hart Notre Dame E
1950 Vic Janowicz Ohio State RB
1951 Dick Kazmaier Princeton RB
1952 Billy Vessels Oklahoma RB
1953 John Lattner Notre Dame RB
1954 Alan Ameche Wisconsin FB
1955 Howard Cassady Ohio State RB
1956 Paul Hornung Notre Dame QB
1957 John David Crow Texas A&M RB
1958 Pete Dawkins Army RB
1959 Billy Cannon Louisiana State RB
1960 Joe Bellino Navy RB
1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse RB
1962 Terry Baker Oregon State QB
1963 Roger Staubach Navy QB
1964 John Huarte Notre Dame QB
1965 Mike Garrett USC RB
1966 Steve Spurrier Florida QB
1967 Gary Beban UCLA QB
1968 O.J. Simpson USC RB
1969 Steve Owens Oklahoma FB
1970 Jim Plunkett Stanford QB
1971 Pat Sullivan Auburn QB
1972 Johnny Rodgers Nebraska RB
1973 John Cappelletti Penn State RB
1974 Archie Griffin Ohio State RB
1975 Archie Griffin Ohio State RB
1976 Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh RB
1977 Earl Campbell Texas RB
1978 Billy Sims Oklahoma RB
1979 Charles White USC RB
1980 George Rogers South Carolina RB
1981 Marcus Allen USC RB
1982 Herschel Walker Georgia RB
1983 Mike Rozier Nebraska RB
1984 Doug Flutie Boston College QB
1985 Bo Jackson Auburn RB
1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami (Fla) QB
1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame WR
1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State RB
1989 Andre Ware Houston QB
1990 Ty Detmer Brigham Young QB
1991 Desmond Howard Michigan WR
1992 Gino Torretta Miami (Fla) QB
1993 Charlie Ward Florida State QB
1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado RB
1995 Eddie George Ohio State RB
1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida QB
1997 Charles Woodson Michigan CB
1998 Ricky Williams Texas RB
1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin RB
2000 Chris Weinke Florida State QB
2001 Eric Crouch Nebraska QB
2002 Carson Palmer USC QB
2003 Jason White Oklahoma QB
2004 Matt Leinart USC QB
2006 Troy Smith Ohio State QB
2007 Tim Tebow Florida QB
2008 Sam Bradford Oklahoma QB
2009 Mark Ingram Alabama RB
2010 Cam Newton Auburn QB
2011 Robert Griffin III Baylor University QB

Sporting Charts explains Heisman Trophy

The Heisman is the biggest award in college football, and each year is one of the most talked about topics. The voting is followed closely, and schools will launch campaigns to attempt to convince voters to support their school's player, since having a Heisman winner from your school is considered highly prestigious and can be a big recruiting tool. Debates often rage about how players are selected, as evaluating different players and their seasons against one another can prove difficult, and factors such as team success and off the field conduct often come into play.

Related Video