Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

Super Bowl

What is Super Bowl?

The common name for the NFL Championship Game that is played at the end of the season between the champions of the two conferences, the AFC and the NFC. The Super Bowl is played on a neutral field that is decided several years before each season. The event is usually the most-watched television program in any given year in the United States, and is a major event in American culture.

List of Super Bowl Winners

Super Bowl Season Winning team Score Losing team
I 1966 Green Bay Packers 35–10 Kansas City Chiefs
II 1967 Green Bay Packers 33–14 Oakland Raiders
III 1968 New York Jets 16–7  Baltimore Colts
IV 1969 Kansas City Chiefs 23–7  Minnesota Vikings
V 1970 Baltimore Colts 16–13  Dallas Cowboys
VI 1971 Dallas Cowboys 24–3  Miami Dolphins
VII 1972 Miami Dolphins 14–7  Washington Redskins
VIII 1973 Miami Dolphins 24–7  Minnesota Vikings
IX 1974 Pittsburgh Steelers 16–6  Minnesota Vikings
X 1975 Pittsburgh Steelers 21–17 Dallas Cowboys
XI 1976 Oakland Raiders 32–14 Minnesota Vikings
XII 1977 Dallas Cowboys 27–10 Denver Broncos
XIII 1978 Pittsburgh Steelers 35–31 Dallas Cowboys
XIV 1979 Pittsburgh Steelers 31–19 Los Angeles Rams
XV 1980 Oakland Raiders 27–10 Philadelphia Eagles
XVI 1981 San Francisco 49ers 26–21 Cincinnati Bengals
XVII 1982 Washington Redskins 27–17 Miami Dolphins
XVIII 1983 Los Angeles Raiders 38–9  Washington Redskins
XIX 1984 San Francisco 49ers 38–16 Miami Dolphins
XX 1985 Chicago Bears 46–10 New England Patriots
XXI 1986 New York Giants 39–20 Denver Broncos
XXII 1987 Washington Redskins 42–10 Denver Broncos
XXIII 1988 San Francisco 49ers 20–16 Cincinnati Bengals
XXIV 1989 San Francisco 49ers 55–10 Denver Broncos
XXV 1990 New York Giants 20–19 Buffalo Bills
XXVI 1991 Washington Redskins 37–24 Buffalo Bills
XXVII 1992 Dallas Cowboys 52–17 Buffalo Bills
XXVIII 1993 Dallas Cowboys 30–13 Buffalo Bills
XXIX 1994 San Francisco 49ers 49–26 San Diego Chargers
XXX 1995 Dallas Cowboys 27–17 Pittsburgh Steelers
XXXI 1996 Green Bay Packers 35–21 New England Patriots
XXXII 1997 Denver Broncos 31–24 Green Bay Packers
XXXIII 1998 Denver Broncos 34–19 Atlanta Falcons
XXXIV 1999 St. Louis Rams 23–16 Tennessee Titans
XXXV 2000 Baltimore Ravens 34–7  New York Giants
XXXVI 2001 New England Patriots 20–17 St. Louis Rams
XXXVII 2002 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 48–21 Oakland Raiders
XXXVIII 2003 New England Patriots 32–29 Carolina Panthers
XXXIX 2004 New England Patriots 24–21 Philadelphia Eagles
XL 2005 Pittsburgh Steelers 21–10 Seattle Seahawks
XLI 2006 Indianapolis Colts 29–17 Chicago Bears
XLII 2007 New York Giants 17–14 New England Patriots
XLIII 2008 Pittsburgh Steelers 27–23 Arizona Cardinals
XLIV 2009 New Orleans Saints 31–17 Indianapolis Colts
XLV 2010 Green Bay Packers 31–25 Pittsburgh Steelers
XLVI 2011 New York Giants 21–17 New England Patriots
XLVII 2012 Baltimore Ravens 34-31 San Francisco 49ers

Sporting Charts explains Super Bowl

The Super Bowl has existed since 1967 when the champions of the two competing professional football leagues, the NFL and the AFL, played an extra postseason game after the conclusion of their respective playoffs. When the two leagues merged a few years later, the Super Bowl became the annual championship game. Each Super Bowl is marked with roman numerals (i.e. Super Bowl XIII for Super Bowl 13) and is a major media event for the entire week leading up to the game. The winner of the Super Bowl wins the Vince Lombardi Trophy. The game tends to rotate between a series of warm weather neutral sites, particularly Miami, San Diego, and New Orleans, although the game is sometimes played in northern cities with dome stadiums, and will be played outdoors in New York for the first time in 2014.

Related Video