Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

The Pro Football Hall of Fame

What is The Pro Football Hall of Fame?

The Pro Football Hall of Fame is located in Canton, Ohio.  The facility opened in 1963 with 17 charter members, the most widely known of which is Jim Thorpe.  Inductees are selected by a 44 member committee of sports writers.

Sporting Charts explains Pro Football Hall of Fame

The Pro Football Hall of Fame has 267 members enshrined as of 2012, the last class having inducted NFL greats such as Curtis Martin and Willie Roaf.  In order to be eligible for the honor, a player must have retired or been inactive for at least 5 years.  Anybody may nominate a player by writing to the Hall of Fame, with an initial list of 25 candidates formed by polling the selection committee three times, in March, September, and October.  In November, the committee whittles down the list to 15 finalists, and then a 9 member "Senior Committee" of the most senior members adds two players who finished their careers at least 25 years prior.  From the final list of 17 players, at least four but no more than seven players who have received at least 80% of the vote from the committee will be inducted in the Hall of Fame.

Related Stats

Related Video