Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

Vince Lombardi Trophy

What is Vince Lombardi Trophy?

This is the trophy the National Football League awards each year to the winning team of the Super Bowl. The trophy gained the name Vince Lombardi Trophy in 1970 in recognition of Green Bay Packers' coach Vince Lombardi.

Vince Lombardi Trophy Winners

Super Bowl Season Winning team Score Losing team
I 1966 Green Bay Packers 35–10 Kansas City Chiefs
II 1967 Green Bay Packers 33–14 Oakland Raiders
III 1968 New York Jets 16–7  Baltimore Colts
IV 1969 Kansas City Chiefs 23–7  Minnesota Vikings
V 1970 Baltimore Colts 16–13  Dallas Cowboys
VI 1971 Dallas Cowboys 24–3  Miami Dolphins
VII 1972 Miami Dolphins 14–7  Washington Redskins
VIII 1973 Miami Dolphins 24–7  Minnesota Vikings
IX 1974 Pittsburgh Steelers 16–6  Minnesota Vikings
X 1975 Pittsburgh Steelers 21–17 Dallas Cowboys
XI 1976 Oakland Raiders 32–14 Minnesota Vikings
XII 1977 Dallas Cowboys 27–10 Denver Broncos
XIII 1978 Pittsburgh Steelers 35–31 Dallas Cowboys
XIV 1979 Pittsburgh Steelers 31–19 Los Angeles Rams
XV 1980 Oakland Raiders 27–10 Philadelphia Eagles
XVI 1981 San Francisco 49ers 26–21 Cincinnati Bengals
XVII 1982 Washington Redskins 27–17 Miami Dolphins
XVIII 1983 Los Angeles Raiders 38–9  Washington Redskins
XIX 1984 San Francisco 49ers 38–16 Miami Dolphins
XX 1985 Chicago Bears 46–10 New England Patriots
XXI 1986 New York Giants 39–20 Denver Broncos
XXII 1987 Washington Redskins 42–10 Denver Broncos
XXIII 1988 San Francisco 49ers 20–16 Cincinnati Bengals
XXIV 1989 San Francisco 49ers 55–10 Denver Broncos
XXV 1990 New York Giants 20–19 Buffalo Bills
XXVI 1991 Washington Redskins 37–24 Buffalo Bills
XXVII 1992 Dallas Cowboys 52–17 Buffalo Bills
XXVIII 1993 Dallas Cowboys 30–13 Buffalo Bills
XXIX 1994 San Francisco 49ers 49–26 San Diego Chargers
XXX 1995 Dallas Cowboys 27–17 Pittsburgh Steelers
XXXI 1996 Green Bay Packers 35–21 New England Patriots
XXXII 1997 Denver Broncos 31–24 Green Bay Packers
XXXIII 1998 Denver Broncos 34–19 Atlanta Falcons
XXXIV 1999 St. Louis Rams 23–16 Tennessee Titans
XXXV 2000 Baltimore Ravens 34–7  New York Giants
XXXVI 2001 New England Patriots 20–17 St. Louis Rams
XXXVII 2002 Tampa Bay Buccaneers 48–21 Oakland Raiders
XXXVIII 2003 New England Patriots 32–29 Carolina Panthers
XXXIX 2004 New England Patriots 24–21 Philadelphia Eagles
XL 2005 Pittsburgh Steelers 21–10 Seattle Seahawks
XLI 2006 Indianapolis Colts 29–17 Chicago Bears
XLII 2007 New York Giants 17–14 New England Patriots
XLIII 2008 Pittsburgh Steelers 27–23 Arizona Cardinals
XLIV 2009 New Orleans Saints 31–17 Indianapolis Colts
XLV 2010 Green Bay Packers 31–25 Pittsburgh Steelers
XLVI 2011 New York Giants 21–17 New England Patriots
XLVII 2012 Baltimore Ravens 34–31 San Francisco 49ers

Sporting Charts explains Vince Lombardi Trophy

Prior to 1970 the trophy was known as the world championship trophy and inscribed "World Championship Football". After the name change in 1970 the inscription was changed to "Vince Lombardi Trophy" and the roman numeral of the precise year won. Once the trophy is won it is sent back to be further engraved to list the names of the participating teams, date, location and the final score. From there the trophy is sent back to the winning team who will permanently maintain possession of the  trophy. A new trophy is created every year by Tiffany and Co. in New Jersey. The trophy is made entirely of sterling silver and stands 22in. tall and weighs 7lbs depicting a regular size football in kicking position.  

Related Video