Free Report: 10 Powerful Technical Chart Formations

Shutouts: 2015 MLB Season

Shutouts is a statistic in baseball which measures the total number of games in which a team wins the game without allowing their opponent to score a run.

More about Shutouts

Team shutouts are accomplished when a pitching staff does not allow a single run. This can be the result of using just a single pitcher or from using a multitude of pitchers, though it is much more common for a team to use multiple pitchers while achieving a shutout than just a single pitcher). Individual shutouts have become particularly rare within the last 10 to 20 years, though team shutouts are actually up slightly over that same time frame. This is a result of both declining offense in general as well as teams’ increasingly specialized bullpen management tendencies, in which more pitchers are being used in an average game than before.

Team Shutouts
1Los Angeles Dodgers16221
2Chicago Cubs16221
3San Francisco Giants16218
4Oakland Athletics16215
5St. Louis Cardinals16215
6New York Mets16214
7Houston Astros16213
8Pittsburgh Pirates16213
9Washington Nationals16213
10Detroit Tigers16112
11Arizona Diamondbacks16212
12Minnesota Twins16212
13Tampa Bay Rays16212
14Los Angeles Angels16212
15Miami Marlins16212
16Seattle Mariners16212
17Cleveland Indians16110
18Baltimore Orioles16210
19Boston Red Sox16210
20Toronto Blue Jays16210
21Atlanta Braves16210
22Texas Rangers1629
23Chicago White Sox1629
24Cincinnati Reds1628
25Kansas City Royals1628
26Philadelphia Phillies1627
27Milwaukee Brewers1627
28San Diego Padres1626
29New York Yankees1624
30Colorado Rockies1624
Shutouts By Season:
2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 |

Frequently Asked Questions

Team Shutouts Related Terms

Team Shutouts Related Stats